DualCon is Closing Down

I will not be able to run another DualCon. I have been unable to secure a location or date. There were some alternate locations I could have tried to move the convention to, but they were too small. I would have had to drop parts of the convention. Without having secured a date and location I did not feel right about accepting money from people for the convention and money was something I needed to keep up operations.

I have already gone ahead and stop the con’s personal email address, the domain names, and the pro level of WordPress. Some of these are still working, but will stop soon.

I will be leaving the site and the social media up, but I do not see much coming from them. If you need/want to reach me these would be the places to do it.

I had already started gathering autographed photos for the charity auction this year. I still plan to use these to raise money for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. When I figure out the details I will let you all know when and where we will auction them off at. With all the money going to the AFSP once again.

This is not something I have taken likely or with any joy. I really thought I had a chance at making this work. Part of it is my refusal to compromise on the convention and become smaller. I also made chooses in how I wanted the con to run, personalized email and domain name, and cause I refused to be a small con that it needed to be.

I can’t find anything else to say.

Nicholas Anderson

Convention Director

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑